The museum is located in the centre of Beaune and housed in the former palace of the Dukes of Burgundy, which was built in the 14th century. It is dedicated to the vines and wines, from Antiquity to the present date. The collections exhibited enable visitors to understand the work of the winegrower, the geography and geology of the « côtes » vineyards, together with the customs, traditionsand festivals linked to wine. The museum provides a good introduction for a better understanding of the Climats of Burgundy.
© Specially designed visits, centred on the Climats, are regularly scheduled : « Journée du Patrimoine » (Heritage Open Day), « Nuit des Musées » (Museums Night), visits for students, schools and young children … Find out more !
Hôtel des Ducs, rue d’Enfer, Beaune
Tél : +33 (0)3.80.22.08.19
The Hôtel-Dieu de Beaune was founded in 1443 by Nicolas Rolin (1376-1462), who was chancellor to Philip the Good, Duke of Burgundy, and Rolin’s wife, Guigone de Salins. Construction of this remarkable example of Burgundian-Flemish architecture was completed in 1457. What is now an impressive historical monument was once a hospital dedicated to caring for the poor. Its former hospital ward « la salle des pôvres » and the extensive cellars house the personal wine reserves of the Hospice, which owns 60 hectares of vineyard.
The production is sold in an auction held every year on the 3rd Sunday in November, to help finance medical equipment and accommodation for hospital patients and residents.
Rue de l’Hôtel-Dieu, Beaune
Tél : +33 (0)22.214.171.124.00
Clos de Vougeot is one of the first « clos » or marked vineyard enclosures in Burgundy. From the 12th century, the monks of the Abbey of Cîteaux began the construction of farm buildings for wine-making among the vines. The cellar, vat-houseand thetwo monumental presses they contain are surviving examples of this era. The edifice was completed in the 16th century by the construction of the main building, designed in the purest Renaissance style.
Château du Clos de Vougeot is located in the heart of the Grand Crus discovery route. It is open to visitors all year round and welcomes history, architecture and wine enthusiasts alike…The château is owned by the Confrérie des Chevaliers du Tastevin whose « chapters » or meetings which are held in this unique setting, are famous throughout the world.
Tél : +33 (0)126.96.36.199.09
The Abbey was founded in 1098 by a community of monks led by Abbot Robert de Molesmes. Cîteaux is the parent Abbey for several hundred monasteries. It has long been a major centre for Christian spiritualism and marked not only the spiritual but also the socio-economic life of the religious community for over seven centuries. Its vineyard estates were immense.
Tél : +33 (0)188.8.131.52.34
In the early 13th century, the Dukes of Burgundy established their wine estate in Chenôve, which extended over 50 hectares of quality vines and included an impressive vat-house with two monumental presses. These ancient presses are among the rare examples of architecture and viticultural machinery from the Middle Ages still intact today. They are put back into operation every year on the 3rd weekend of September, during the « Fête de la Pressée » (grape pressing festival) in Chenôve. They also bear witness to the economic power wielded by the Valois Dukes of Burgundy, who expanded their domination and prestige through the production of their wines, which were regarded as « the best in Christendom », in the words of Philip the Good.
Rue Roger-Salengro, Chenôve
Tél : +33 (0)184.108.40.206.70
This « cellier » or storehouse, known as « Petit-Clairvaux », was built against the ramparts surrounding the city of Dijon and was managed by the Abbey of Clairveaux. It is a masterpiece of Cistercian architecture which gradually fell into disuse and was sold during the Revolution before being dismantled. Today it is a venue for exhibitions.
27 boulevard de la Trémouille, Dijon
Tél : +33 (0)220.127.116.11.51
Dijon’s « Jardin des Sciences » enables us to develop our understanding and respect of the environment in which we live. Visitors can learn about the grape varieties of Burgundy and vines under cultivation on site.
©The museum runs guided tours for schools, focused on the Climats.
14 Rue Jehan de Marville, Dijon
tél. +33 (0)3 80 48 82 00
The museum is located in the main wing of the former Benedictine Abbey of Saint-Bénigne. During the tour, visitors will find Gallo-Roman wine-growing tools, wine amphorae and the stele (stone tablet) used by a Dijon wine merchant.
5, rue Docteur Maret, Dijon
Tél : +33 (0) 18.104.22.168.70
The museum, which is located in the Bernardine Monastery, is an invitation to discover the rich architectural heritage of Dijon and the cultural heritage of Burgundy. Step back in time to learn more about the daily life of Burgundians in the 19th century and the early 20th century, including life in the vineyard and wine-making.
Monastère des Bernardines,
17, rue Sainte-Anne, Dijon
Tél : +33 (0)22.214.171.124.90